8 Limbs of Yoga - Yamas

Yoga Philosophy is something that is overlooked quite frequently in a typical yoga class. All components of the 8 Limbs shows more than just the Poses/Postures. That is one component we will discuss later on.

Introducing you now to the Yamas or the 5 Social Ethics:

  1. Ahimsa is the act of Kindness.

  2. Satya is Truthfulness.

  3. Asteya is Non-stealing.

  4. Brahmacharya is Moderation.

  5. Aparigraha is Generosity.

Ponder in your life how you practice each of the above. I have a friend who is in sales and mentioned to me that he was going to try to stop the “little white lie” for a while. I thought that was an interesting way to begin the aspect of social ethics. Ellen DeGeneres discusses “be kind to one another” at the end of each of her shows. Check in with the space of awareness for yourself.

Future posts we will be covering more of the Limbs of Yoga:

  1. Niyamas

  2. Asana

  3. Pranayama

  4. Prathyahara

  5. Dharana

  6. Dhyana

  7. Samadhi

Amy Stephens is the owner of AZ Healing Center & Yoga Studio. As a yoga instructor for over 21 years and a Healing Touch Practitioner her awareness begins to take her clients into a space to understand a few unanswered questions from their past. Private and Group yoga classes available, or get your energy in balance with a Healing Touch Session. Check out her yoga schedule and workshops coming up at her facility.